top of page

Consider Her Ways and Others, by John Wyndham, a review



A friend of mine, a fellow author, on learning about the concept of my work in progress – Venus Virus, sent me this book – just in case.

Venus Virus revolves around the idea of a virus that kills men. I know, right? Can you imagine? Me writing something like that?

Consider Her Ways, a collection of short stories, was released in 1965, and my friend was concerned because it includes a story about a woman who finds herself transported into a future where a virus has annihilated the male population.

Thankfully, beyond the idea of a man-killing virus, Wyndham’s story bears no resemblence to mine, and I was able to continue reading the collection for entertainment alone.

It’s an interesting collection and while the stories repeat the same theme – a sudden change that leads to exclusive knowledge or perception – there is still plenty of variety to the tales.

All but the last tale involve some sort of transportation – body-switching, folds in time, or multiple dimensions, that enable the main character to learn something they wouldn’t otherwise know.

The final tale reminds me of Clive Barker’s The Yattering and Jack. It’s the story of a man who invents a clever loophole to a pact with the devil. It’s funny, charming, clever and my favourite of the collection.

I was less keen on the title story, the one my friend feared might parallel Venus Virus.

In “Consider Her Ways” we are taken with the main female character, to a possible future where men no longer exist and cloned women run society, birth new clones and do all the work. This society has no art or variety. It is strictly utilitarian to the point of boredom, and serves as a terrifying warning to the main character. There is a cute and quirky twist at the end, but perhaps because it downplays, or rather ignores, female creativity, I find it annoying and condescending.

All the stories are well written and while repetitive at times, it’s a collection I am happy to have discovered.

4/5 stars.

25 views0 comments
bottom of page