top of page

Lynne Ligocki Gauthier interview. Women in Horror Month

Updated: Feb 21, 2019



Another Beautiful Nightmare is a Vamptasy anthology, following on from the success of Beautiful Nightmares. The book is due for release on Feb 1, 2019. I asked some of the authors a few questions about their contribution to the anthology, their thoughts on Women in Horror Month, and their other published work. Today I am chatting with L. Gauthier.

What story did you write for Another Beautiful Nightmare?

The story that my co-writer P. Mattern and I wrote is called Hotel Key. P. Mattern and I both shared the same vision of a once Grand Hotel where Presidents, Royals and dignitaries had stayed. We both wrote a description and our visions were nearly identical. Once we agreed on plotlines it flowed naturally.

Hotel Key is about a man who wins a golden key to a hotel in a card game. He can’t believe his luck in winning such a grand piece of property and all the opportunities that come to his mind with what he can do with it. But when things seem too good to be true, they usually are and remember, some doors should never be opened.


Why is Women in Horror Month important?

Well, women don’t get the recognition that we should in the Horror Genre. Men get a lot of credit in the stories they write that scare the pants off of the reader and their names are always recognized with horror. Women should be equally credited for our work in the horror genre. Just like not all men write horror or war stories, not all women write romance and cook books.

Who is your favourite woman in Horror?

I have the honor of writing with my favorite. P. Mattern was the first female horror author that I recall reading and I was hooked after reading The World of Azglen book which is the first book she ever wrote and the first in the Full Moon Series. I absolutely love her books.

What is your favourite book/story that you’ve written so far?

I love the story A House in Vermont. Mostly because it came from an actual experience that happened when looking at farm houses with my husband and children to live in when we moved here in Vermont

Who is your favourite character that you created and why?

The character Lynne in A House in Vermont. She is a strong female character, looking to find the perfect home for her family to live in. Her son has special needs and she wants to make sure he has a safe and stable environment to help him be the best he can be.

What do you do when you aren’t writing?

I’m a busy homeschooling mom of two of my kids, one who has autism. I love to spend time with my family doing things together like camping, swimming, snow tubing, planting a garden or just hanging out at home. I love to read and I also crochet.

What is the strangest or spookiest experience you’ve had in real life?

When I was thirteen, I lived in a triple decker apartment building. My cousin lived downstairs and she was also thirteen. We both had poltergeists following us. Mine liked to do pranks like changing the radio station while we were sitting right in front of the stereo. We could all see the lit-up line moving up and down through the station numbers.

It also liked to turn the blow dryer on in the front bedroom when we were all in the kitchen having breakfast and other little annoying things like that. Unfortunately for my cousin, hers used to do more destructive things. They would arrive home to find the front door broken in and the toilet full of their clothing and over flowing and no one was around to have done these things. Both families were so happy when we both turned fourteen.

Give us a full list of the books you have published and links to where they can be found/purchased.

A House in Vermont by P.Mattern and L.Gauthier is currently in the Demons, Devils and Denizens ll anthology.

We want to follow you on social media. What are your links?

17 views0 comments
bottom of page