top of page

A Giacomi interview. Women in Horror Month

Updated: Feb 21, 2019



Another Beautiful Nightmare is a Vamptasy anthology, following on from the success of Beautiful Nightmares. The book is due for release on Feb 1, 2019. I asked some of the authors a few questions about their contribution to the anthology, their thoughts on Women in Horror Month, and their other published work.

Today I am chatting with A. Giacomi.

What is your name?

Alessia, but I go by A. Giacomi on my book covers and I’m also known as The Poetic Zombie on social media, since I’m pretty obsessed with zombies and all things ghoulish.

Where are you from?

Toronto, Canada, born and raised, right next to Rue Morgue Manor is where I spent most of my days. (True Story)

What story did you write for Another Beautiful Nightmare?

My Story is called Aqua Vita, which translated means Water of Life. The water in my story is rather unholy, yet only those who prove worthy may drink. Aqua Vita is partially horror but also an immortal love story. I like to think that terror and romance go hand in hand, it’s always a scary thought that you may lose someone you love. This particular tale is all about a very special, secret, drink that grants immortal life, and of course it comes with a price tag.

I’m a big movie nerd, so when I think of this story, I can’t help but think it’s a little inspired by Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. If you recall the chalice at the end of the film, then you know you better be damn sure about drinking from it. Aqua Vita was based on a nightmare I had a couple years back, similar to that “drink from the cup of eternal life” scenario. Many of my stories seem to come from nightmares, so I guess there’s some good that comes from night terrors. I write enough horror stories to have a nightmare here and there, but what does drive a lot of my storylines is the ability for the monster to still display humanity. I make monsters that you want to hug, or save, or at least feel like rooting for a little. True horror comes from one’s humanity being taken away, it’s a scary thought.

Were you also part of Beautiful Nightmares and if so what did you learn for that and how well the collection was received?

Yes! I was part of the “OG” Beautiful Nightmares anthology and it was such a pleasure working with such talented ghouls, the stories were chilling and thrilling and deliciously original. My story was called Poveglia, The Island of the Dead, it’s based on an Italian urban legend and I still get people sending me messages saying, wow that was really scary and awesome! Honestly one of my favourite anthologies’s ever and I’m not just saying that because I’m in it. I take Beautiful Nightmares to events with me and people always pick it up, the cover is stunning and every sentence in there leaves you wanting more! It’s a really talented line-up of ladies and I’m really proud to be a part of it.

Do you have a favourite story in the anthology?

Honestly, they’re all amazing, I couldn’t pick just one. This collection is outstanding and every ghoul in it has given us something truly terrifying and wicked cool! I love that they’re all different. I think when people see something labeled “horror” they think if they’ve read one scary story then they’ve read them all. That’s so not the case, so give horror a chance to surprise you and it surely will! Especially in this collection!

Why is Women in Horror Month important?

Women in Horror Month is Important because it allows women in the genre to really shine, I think we’re often overlooked, maybe there is still that stigma that women can’t really be all that scary, but trust me, they know a thing or two about terror. I think we live in a time where women need to build each other up and Women in Horror Month has really built a community of strong women who are more than happy to do that. We don’t try to outshine one another, we really try to promote what we love, not just our own work. That’s why it’s so fitting that this anthology be released during WWIHX it’s all about sharing the love, or the scares in this case.

Who are your favourite women in Horror?

That’s such a hard question because there are so many! I can give a few but trust me it’s nowhere near where my admiration falls for women in this genre. For writing classics, I love me some Shelley and Jackson, for writers I’ve long admired there’s Anne Rice and Charlaine Harris, and I am actually a huge fan of all the ladies in this anthology, it’s really awesome to be amongst them because I read and love their stuff! I’m also a fan of Rue Morgue Magazine Andrea Subissati is the Executive Editor and Monica S. Kuebler is a contributing editor. These ladies not only keep the genre alive in Toronto they also write some incredible stuff! For horror artists I love Australian chalk artist Chantal Handley, I love Monstress (Susete Saraiva) who makes horror minis, and I love Suspiria (Suspirialand) who makes gorgeous horror prints and tattoos and just so happens to be in Toronto! For female directors, I love Soska Sisters and for actresses, in the genre, I will forever love Elvira, I remember watching her on television when I was a kid, thinking she’s the creepy coolest!

Apart from the anthology release are you doing anything to celebrate Women in Horror Month?

I’m planning on promoting as many ladies in the genre as possible all over social media. There are so many great voices out there that just need to be heard, and read, and seen! I also plan to do some giveaways during the release party because what’s a celebration without some freebies?! So I hope people will join us on February 1st for our Facebook release party, it’s sure to be a scare!

Is horror the only genre you write in? If not what other genres do you write?

Yep only horror, but horror has a lot of subgenres so I’ll never be bored with it. I feel that horror is my home, I’m one of those kids who loved Halloween and just never stopped. I love a good scary story and I have so many inside of me just waiting to be written.

What is your favourite book/story that you’ve written so far?

I think my favourite is still my first, Zombie Girl will forever be my baby, it’s my first novel, it was born from my teenage nightmares and came into this world after I gave birth to my first child. It holds a lot of firsts and fond memories and I truly believe the book is a small piece of me.


Who is your favourite character that you created and why?

Eve! She’s my favourite zombie ever! She’s strong, funny, sarcastic, flawed and lovable. She makes mistakes, she loves adventure, she follows her heart (even after it stops beating). She’s complex, she’s so incredibly real, yet a complete work of fiction (if that makes sense).

What do you do when you aren’t writing?

I’m a teacher and I love it! I believe that kids are the best storytellers ever!

When I’m not at work I’m spending time with my husband and two kiddos.

What is the strangest or spookiest experience you’ve had in real life?

Oh wow! Too many! Let’s just say, I believe in ghosts…

A. Giacomi's Bibliography


Anthologies

Follow A. Giacomi on social media at the following sites -

Her website is at www.poeticzombie.com

21 views0 comments
bottom of page