top of page

October Frights, day 1


October Frights is a blog hop and you will see a list of all participating bloggers, horror and paranormal authors in this post. Please share the love and visit the other blogs. Other participants include Anita Stewart, Stephanie Ayers, Deb Daniels Lerew McCallum Morgan, Debbie Frisenda Christiana, Naching T. Kassa, Wendy Howard Spurlin, Lyssa Medana, Samantha Dunaway Bryant, James P. Nettles III, and John Linwood Grant.

I shall be posting each day from 10th - 15th October so pop back here for all my spooky seasonal musings. For this introductory post I am sharing a drabble I wrote called Missing that was first published on Trembling With Fear.


MISSING


is printed in bold capitals above a grainy photo of my beloved. Her name is wrong though. That isn’t what I call her.


I tug at the top left corner. The grimy bricks cannot cling on to her. The poster and its protective sleeve come to me eagerly, and I reach inside to extract the innards. They stink of ink not flesh but I consume them anyway. Then let the unwanted plastic fall to a pavement shiny with rain. The sole of my loafer presses down, drowning it in a puddle.


The facsimile tastes bitter compared to the original.


~ Carmilla Voiez



You may also be interested in a Facebook based event this weekend – Horror Weekend 2019, from October 12 – 13.


Remember to hop on over to check out the other participants offerings as well.



27 views0 comments
bottom of page