top of page

October Frights - Day 6 - Starblood

Updated: Mar 15, 2022


The Starblood Series by Carmilla Voiez is a Gothic Extravaganza

Satori, an adept Chaos Magician, casts a spell to try and win back his lost love, Star. Lilith, mother of demons, has other ideas. Summoned by Satori's magic, she makes it her mission to manipulate and separate the doomed lovers. Satori knows he and Star are meant to be together. He battles demons, travels worlds and even transcends death for her but, however much she begs, he can't grant her the freedom she craves. (Also available as graphic novels with art by Anna Prashkovich.)


Book 4 of the Starblood horror/dark fantasy series is out now. http://smarturl.it/PariahVoiez


Freya wants revenge. Lilith, Edensun and Star have stripped her of all she holds dear, and now she must make them pay. Her recruitment by the Morrigu seems to afford her the perfect opportunity, but are they planning to sacrifice her to save their own skins?

Contains graphic violence and strong language and is not recommended for young readers.


An interview with Freya (one of the characters in the Starblood series):


Freya Chaple is a young Goth woman with tangled, long and naturally blonde hair that she weaves ribbons into. She was born and raised in Bristol, England. She is the youngest of three children and her parents are still married. Things were great in Freya’s life until her sister, Tanya, was killed in a park when Freya was thirteen. Now she feels ill-used by life and is eager to exact revenge.


(interview originally published on The Reader's Lounge)


Before we begin, can you share a little about your background?


I started my fictional life as a side character and friend of Star, the main protagonist of Carmilla Voiez’s Starblood, but it became obvious early on that I could never play such a small role. I was the baby of the bunch, a few years younger than Star, Satori, Raven and Donna. I had to work hard to get noticed, to be heard, to take up space. That was my biggest problem, and you know the saying “the squeaky wheel gets the oil”? Well that’s me. I make a noise. I am the youngest of three kids. My dad is Mike Chaple. He works as a taxi driver, and I recently found out that he’s involved in a magical cult, but I’m not sure you want to hear about him. He’s a devoted dad though, especially after my older sister was murdered. My mum’s name is Lorraine. She and I have never really got on. She always thought I was trouble and I guess I proved her right. Mum is far from perfect herself – selfish and scared, and I’ve frequently wondered why Dad loves her. And then there’s my brother, Ivan. After my sister was killed my mum and dad kept me on a pretty short leash. My brother became the focus of my burgeoning sexuality. I can see now it wasn’t a healthy obsession, my other self Deya made that pretty clear to me, and I have moved on. But Ivan was my first love, and I can’t change that now.


Most of the trouble I’ve got into has happened in Carmilla’s novels. I think she enjoys torturing me more than my mum does. I’ve slept with demons, killed people, travelled to another world and been mauled by a giant snake. But there have been good times too. I fell in love and had a kid, Avaline. And I have a best friend, an advisor, who never leaves my side – Deya. She’s better than me, stronger, wiser. It’s a shame it took me so long to create her.


Can you tell us about your personal style?


I suppose it’s a fusion between Cyber and Romantic Goth. I don’t tend to follow rules. The big black skirts I wear remind me of my sister Tanya. In fact, most of them belonged to her. I guess in a way that’s a link to my happier past. The military accessories and the skinny Ts I wear with Tanya’s skirts represent, I suppose, an acknowledgment that the future is harsh and I need to fight to stay alive. I see you staring at my ribbons. They are harder to explain, but they are part of who I am, and my other self. My brother is, was, a shaman or as near to one as European boys can get. He tied ribbons to a tree in our garden to show his gratitude for what life gave him. I tie mine to my hair because everything I have ever gained from life I fought for.


What do you consider the most overrated virtue?


Innocence. Not knowing things doesn’t make you pure, it makes you vulnerable. That society values innocence at all suggests that society is full of predators.


Which living person do you most despise?


It’s a tie between two – Star, assuming she is still alive. I hear rumours that she killed herself, but until I see her rotting corpse I remain unconvinced. The other one’s her demon son – Edensun. That bastard murdered my husband. Do I have to decide between them? I want them both dead.


 

I am sad to say that this is the final day of this year's October Frights. Thank you, A.F. Stewart for organising this fun event. But, you can still catch up with posts from all these other bloggers and extend your enjoyment:



Check out the October Frights giveaway and book fair before they end:


October Frights Giveaway: https://storyoriginapp.com/to/Ac7PxRJ



15 views0 comments
bottom of page