top of page

Making my mark


I have lived in many places. I've owned (well paid mortgages on) three houses. I've never spent time and creative energy making any of them my own before.

I've visited friends' houses with shelves full of nik naks that say something vital about the person who lives there. I've hung photos and paintings from my own walls, but I've never felt as though they said anything about me.

I wonder why …

Looking back it's hard to know whether I've never had my own style or whether my style has been so fluid that nothing really stuck for long.

This year I went for it. I decorated and accessorised a room to reflect my style. So what does it look like?


Before, during and after - Making my mark

Essentially it reminds me of a blank slate. The walls are grey, the (very comfortable to stand on) carpet is grey too. The new sofa is grey and my writing chair is … can you guess? A darker shade of grey. The window dressings are very simple and uncluttered roman blinds in a beautiful jewel red shot silk and I have added Frida Kahlo cushions and a print by Remedios Varo of a cat and his part feline part human companion. These are the main splashes of colour in the room, other than the spectrum of book spines that fill my four bookcases.

I sit in my new room and feel serene and inspired. But what does it say about me? I honestly do not know.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page