top of page

Why I write



Photograph by David Porter

Books take a long time to write and unless the author is lucky or already famous the chances are they won't sell enough copies to make more than a very meagre living. So why do we do it?

I do it because there is nothing I love more than reading or creating a beautiful story that says something new about the human condition. I do it because I am too shy to be an orator, but I am desperate to be heard. I do it because every now and again a reader will tell me that I touched their soul, and few experiences are sweeter than that. And I do it in the hope that with enough stories released it will provide enough income to see me into retirement rather than having to rely on the State for help. I do it because art is freedom and I love freedom. I do it for you, but mostly I do it for me.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page