top of page

Musings on Venus Virus



I put my novel aside today. It simply wasn't working for me. I walked away and read for a while, pondering on the meaning of life and the complicated job of a writer. Then I realised what was wrong and hopefully how to fix it.

What's wrong? Too many characters. Too many starts of stories/mysteries that become meaningless as a direct result of the main thrust of the action. Too repetitive.

How to fix it. Delete the main male character's chapters and rewrite those parts only where one of the two main female characters is featured and from her point of view.

By removing all narratives from Agent John Barker's point of view I will make the story more insular and less balanced, and that in this dystopian style, will be a strength, I am certain. I'll also reduce the number of secondary characters by more than half.

Rewrite time fun!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page