top of page

A Sunday Afternoon Stroll


I always take a notebook and camera while out walking. Frequently I am inspired to jot down a plot point or record something beautiful I encounter. Today there were no new stories forming in my mind, perhaps because I wasn't walking alone, but with my darling Gen.

However, I saw plenty I wanted to photograph. They are simply snapshots, but I like them in spite of that. We also saw a proud heron, but it flew off before I could get my camera ready.

We walked through the woods and along the river Deveron. It was a beautiful afternoon and we walked for three hours. Every part of my body aches now, but it was a delightful way to spend a few hours.


Gen recreating a photo shoot I had with David Porter a while back, and doing an awesome job.


We got a little lost and had to stray into farm land at one point. We were careful not to get to close to the calves or spook the cows.

The river tossed, turned and did indeed churn in places. I couldn't get a great view of the bridge as the bank was slippery.

I was delighted to make the acquaintance of Mr Toad who was enjoying the mud.

We heard plenty of bird song, but apart from the shy heron we didn't see any birds close enough to photograph. Perhaps that was because there were signs along our walk warning that people were shooting and we found discarded shells in the mud.

We passed the old fishing temple that was built by William Adam for the Duff family and continued along the home stretch and back to the sea.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page