top of page

Slice Girls interview with Tanja Cilia


What was it that attracted you to the Slice Girls anthology?


Someone had just called me a Feminazi, and the word jumped at me.


How did you feel writing a story about a violent woman?


My murders are usually subtle, as my internet search history would reveal – long-acting poison, insect stings… this was a chance to make things obvious.


Please give the readers a brief summary of the story you wrote for the collection?


‘It was time for the paternalistic, misogynistic, holier-than-though brigade to feel the collective wrath of Woman’.


How do you feel about the way women are usually portrayed in horror?


I am not conversant with the topic, but the few blurbs I’ve read and posters I’ve seen make them out to be appendages or femmes fatales to lure victims to their destiny.


Do you think the way female characters are portrayed in horror reflects the way society views women?


Yes. Cherchez la femme, in a tawdry way.


Have any of your other stories been published? If so tell us about them and where readers can find them.


My stories (and this includes children’s stories) have appeared in several anthologies and magazines; however, I write mostly newspaper columns. You may find some of my work here: https://paperjacketblog.wordpress.com/ and by random searches of my name through search engines.


Bio: I describe myself as Maltese, Mediterranean, and European – in that order. I began writing for print and radio when I was 14 years old, and later, I became a newspaper columnist and began writing online too; I write in both Maltese and English.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page