top of page

Darker Side of Fiction, Featuring Rob Shepherd


Next month authors and readers will come together in Peterborough (UK) to celebrate the Darker Side of Fiction. This week I’ll be posting about a few of the authors who will be joining me at the event, signing and selling books and meeting readers.

If you want to join us on October 7th check out the Darker Side of Fiction website


I recently interviewed Rob about his books and the October event.

Carmilla Voiez (CV): Rob, tell me about the genre(s) and subjects of the books you write and will be showcasing at the Darker event next month.

Rob Shepherd (RB): Although most people that have read my work so far know me as a horror author, I look at myself as more of a multi genre writer. For instance, though my collection “The Grays Anatomy” is horror, I have also written about a moment in time during the second world war in “Sofiah” The Grays Anatomy is a collection of horror all loosely based around the anatomy, exploring its depths and the lengths people will go to and what they are prepared to pay in order to experience what the body is really about and what it really represents, in this world and others. Sofiah is a story based in ww2 where 2 people on opposite sides of the fight for Europe and for freedom meet by extraordinary serendipitous coincidence, and find that they have far more in common than they could have ever have expected. “Friends Like Us” is an emotional paranormal horror I guess. Some have labelled it zombie horror, wrongly I might add, because it is so much more than that. It revolves around a group of friends that decide to holiday for one last time together. Each of the friends is being pulled to one another and pulled in different directions by life itself. When our lead character Oliver agrees to go, it sets in motion a series of events that would leave everybody changed forever. I am also taking My latest book BiteSized Vol.1 which is a small collection of zombie horror, the design and purpose of which is to act as an introduction to my writing style above all else, as well as my zombie horror work. Hopefully it works to get people interested enough to want to know more and to want to read my next major work which I will say is also in the Zombie Horror theme if you will (loosely) but is so much more, it is an exploration of humanity, what that means, where it ends and who we are or think we are if we can not recognise ourselves or one another. I am also going to be taking my other novella “The Caretaker”. This is much more of a classic serial killer scenario, only in typical Shepherd fashion, there is a twist to the story making it much more than just a psychotic killer on the prowl for victims. There is more psychology in this than people would expect, possibly more than I expected when I began writing it. And finally I am taking my first book “Life With Boris Karloff!” with me to the Darker Event. LWBK is a humorous YA exploration of humanity. Who or what are the real monsters in this world and the rollercoaster ride that we are sent on when our main character (the narrator) endeavours to build a new life, a good life for themselves even when it is populated with those very monsters we are taught or conditioned to be scared of.


CV: What got you into writing darker fiction?

RB: I have always been interested in darker fiction. Ever since reading Roald Dahl and seeing in-between the lines of fun, just how dark and terrifying these wonderful and mad scenarios really are or would be. Then falling for Dickens enhanced and nuanced that knowledge, showing me that there are many layers to an action, to a persons words, to a phrase. That not everything is what it seems, but then sometimes, what we think is a trick, a charade or an illusion, is exactly what it appears to be, that it is exactly what it looks like.

CV: Do you consider yourself morbid?

RB: I wouldn’t say I am morbid, though many people would refer to a darker author as morbid, mostly owing to their own preconceived notions of what a darker or horror author is like or don’t necessarily understand the purpose of horror in general, they expect horror authors producers, directors etc etc, to be all dark, brooding, constantly thinking about and talking about death and hell. I have a dark sense of humour, that much is true, but I wouldn’t say I am morbid, no. And I don’t know many horror/dark fiction authors that are.

CV: What do you think is the attraction of dark fiction?

RB: What I love about the darker fiction genre/category, is the freedom, to write whatever come in to your head, to explore anything and go as far as you like with it because nothing is out of bounds, there is nothing that is taboo, or restricted. The only limits you have are the ones you impose on yourself, usually ones revolving around personal taste and acceptability and word length, if not a time limit.


CV: What is your absolute favourite quote from one of your books?

RB: I don’t know if I have a favourite quote from any of my books, but one section of a story I particularly enjoyed is this section from the story “Majique” in the The Grays Anatomy: “Show me what?” Samuel asked quizzically. Again the creature spoke, but as it did so, it held out its hand outwards, closer to Samuel. “Show you how the worlds turn. But only in the direction of man’s banality. I can make them turn in the direction of dreams. Or, something far more interesting.” “But my dreams, they, they’re not dreams, they’re nightmares. They are not welcome and neither are you.” I say, trying to gain some authoritative handling on this, while my feet just wanted to pull me away and never stop. “Oh, but I am welcome Samuel. I have always been welcome. You have always welcomed me. And they are not nightmares. Nightmares are unwanted facets of a personality that fools push to the darkest reaches of their minds, where they can’t find them again. But you are different. Your dreams are those nightmares of other peoples darkest secrets, you seek those dark desires that keep others inside cosy lives where everything is beige and safe for fear of the reality of life beyond the shadowy corners. Their fears are your desires”.

CV: Do your characters talk to you? If so what do they say?

RB: When I wrote Friends Like Us, I would definitely have to say yes. They told me their own stories, their own experiences and especially Oliver, wanted me to relay their pain, love and torment through their experience and tell it to the end, to make the world aware of what happened. For a while that stopped, but with these latest two books that I am working on, the characters definitely have their own voices, they are very distinctive and aren’t shy about telling me what needs to happen next, even if I have already written that particular section of the book. What they say varies, from just telling me what they want to say in the book, to telling me quite clearly, that they don’t like something. They’ll say how I am cruel for killing a character off (too soon, they might say).

CV: Of the other authors at the Darker Side of Fiction event, who are you most looking forward to meeting?

RB: Well, there are a number of authors I am particularly looking forward to meeting, especially a few that I know via FB but have yet to meet in person, which makes it all the more exciting. Firstly, yourself Carmilla. (Obviously), I have long admired your work and you are a constant source of encouragement and helpful advice, sometimes intentional, when asked or unintentional, when simply writing a blog post or Facebook update. I am also looking forward to meeting Hemmie Martin, Joey Paul and Apryl Baker.

CV: Heroes or villains?

RB: Oh villains, all the time. Villains have far more scope as a character. As an author I try to write the hero as rounded and 3 dimensional as possible, but villains are always more fun to write, mostly you can really let loose if you want and yet still bring the plot back on to point by one action, one phrase or moment time.

CV: If you had to choose one favourite book from all the books you have read, which would it be and why?

RB: It would have to be Imajica by Clive Barker. The reason why is because it is such a wonderful and amazing exploration of what is the personality, life, love and what you are prepared to do for love, even if you can’t express or admit that love to yourself. How far you are willing to go to save yourself, others and how far you are willing to explore to find your innermost questions, even the ones you never knew you wanted to know. However I have to admit that it only just edges out Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. There are so many reasons why this book, but suffice to say that if you have read it, then you have already answered this question for me, otherwise, one reason would be characters.

CV: Thank you, Rob Shepherd. I'll see you next month. This week I'll be featuring other authors who will be attending the book event. Book your ticket now to meet me and them. Carmilla xxx

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page